Including but not Limited to…

Standard

As I said, I’ve been cleaning.  I’ve tossed most of the cards without notes (remember that if you want me to keep your correspondence to my dying day) and the doodles I don’t understand anymore, and the room is looking great.   Some things are headed to my god-of-a-garbage-man and others are being placed into decorative boxes, but there were a handful of things I came across that seemed worth mentioning for one reason or another.  They include…

Several letters written between me and my fair-haired cousin (I didn’t even remember that we wrote to each other!), most of which were in pastel milky pens on pink and purple polar bear Lisa Frank stationary. She constantly apologized for not writing sooner and asked frequently for my advice (I’m a year older).

A Xerox-ed picture of a devious looking chef named “Fester” whose mission in life was to teach us about the “Danger Zone” temperatures at which bacteria could infest our food.

A print-out email survey indicating that in the seventh grade I wanted to live on Cape Cod when I finished school, the person who knew me best was myself,  and given the choice between mud and jello wrestling, I preferred jello.

The soap opera, “Our Pathetic Lives” written by my friends and myself in seventh grade.  Inspired by one of our friends getting a boyfriend and including plenty of promiscuity, celebrities, teachers, freak hair-dying accidents, at least 50 different students from our school (by the end people we didn’t know were actually asking to be written into it), and totaling 11 pages of plot bullet points.

My confirmation bulletin with the verse I chose:  “He said to him, ‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’  This is the greatest and first commandment.  And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.'” Matt.22: 37-39

Notes between a one-time best friend and I, titled things like “Secret Note of Secretness”, “Thoughts on the Rachel Factor” and “President Bush’s Defense Plan #1, 2, and 3”

A note from the aforementioned friend foreshadowing the end of our friendship and apologizing for the reasoning I always suspected was there.

A half-time script from my marching band days beginning with “Drum major Rachel Tripp is your band ready?”

A program from the fashion show gala opening of Nordstrom at 12 Oaks.

A black and white picture of a male friend of mine bathing half-naked under a waterfall.  Sent as part of a birthday gift from a mutual friend.

and my personal favorite:

a card from a “Mike J” saying

For your birthday I really wish I could convey the depth of my feelings for you — The sublime, ethereal love… the raw undulating passion…  the tender rhapsodies of sweet emotion that emanate from my heart when I gaze upon your divine countenance! … but you know me, I’m just not that good with words!  Happy Birthday!

For the life of me, I have no memory of this boy.   ooops?

Pretend this list surprises you.

yours.Rachel

One response »

Leave a Reply

